Dakar Future: is a greener rally possible?

Two pilots swelled their honors in the Dakar: Nasser al-Attiyah (Toyota) Y Sam Sunderland (KTM) conquered the Dakar-2022 this Friday in Yedá (Saudi Arabia), which was the fourth victory for the Qatari in cars and the second for the British in motorcycles.

Winner of the prologue and one stage, Nasser al-Attiyah finished at the top of the podium above the French Sébastien Loeb (Prodrive), 27 minutes and 46 seconds, and the Saudi Yazeed al-Rajhi (Toyota), at 1 hour 1 minute and 13 seconds.

Winner of the prologue and one stage, Nasser al-Attiyah finished on the top of the podium above the French Sébastien Loeb (Prodrive), 27 minutes and 46 seconds, and the Saudi Yazeed al-Rajhi (Toyota), 1 hour 1 minute and 13 seconds

Leader of the general classification from the first stage, Al-Attiyah had a 48-minute lead, before slowing down to manage his lead in the later stages.

“The feeling today is incredible, we are very happy,” he reacted.

In conjunction with French co-driver Mathieu Baumel, for whom it is the third title in the legendary rally, the 51-year-old Qatari, also an Olympic medalist in the men’s Skeet shooting event, did not fear for his victory in this edition.

This Friday, the partial victory in the twelfth and last stage was for the South African Henk Lategan (Toyota).

Loeb, for his part, was satisfied despite a difficult start to the race: “We thought ‘we’re dead, it’s over’ (after losing 30 minutes in the second stage), but we managed to fight to win second place, it’s in everything case a good rally “.

“We achieved stage victories, good stages, it was good,” continued the nine-time world rally champion.

Fourth in the overall car was the Argentine Orlando Terranova.

The last 10 champions

The 2022 edition, won by Qatari Nasser Al-Attiyah (Toyota) in cars

  1. 2022: Nasser Al-Attiyah-Matthieu Baumel (QAT-FRA/Toyota)

  2. 2021: Stéphane Peterhansel-Edouard Boulanger (FRA / Mini)

  3. 2020: Carlos Sainz-Lucas Cruz (ESP / Mini)

  4. 2019: Nasser Al-Attiyah-Matthieu Baumel (QAT-FRA/Toyota)

  5. 2018: Carlos Sainz-Lucas Cruz (ESP / Peugeot)

  6. 2017: Stéphane Peterhansel-Jean-Paul Cottret (FRA / Peugeot)

  7. 2016: Stéphane Peterhansel-Jean-Paul Cottret (FRA / Peugeot)

  8. 2015: Nasser Al-Attiyah-Matthieu Baumel (QAT-FRA/Mini)

  9. 2014: Nani Roma-Michel Périn (ESP-FRA / Mini)

  10. 2013: Stéphane Peterhansel-Jean-Paul Cottret (FRA / Mini)

Final uncertainty

On motorcycles, the British Sam Sunderland (KTM), 32, won his second Dakar, after a first win in 2017 in South America.

Sunderland overcame the Chilean Pablo Quintanilla (Honda), winner of the last stage, with an advantage of 3 minutes and 27 seconds, and with 6 minutes and 47 seconds ahead of the Austrian Matthias Walkner (KTM).

“I waited ten minutes at the finish line before the victory was confirmed, it was exhausting on my nerves” Sam Sunderland KTM pilot

Frenchman Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) finished at the foot of the podium.

First British motorcycle racer to conquer the Dakar, Sunderland fought for the victory in 2019, but finished 3rd, and again in 2021, finishing again in the third drawer of the podium.

This January, the 32-year-old motorcycle rider began a new adventure, after six editions played within the Red Bull team KTM. He joined the official Team GasGas team, a bet that was successful.

“I waited ten minutes at the finish line before confirming the victory, it was exhausting on my nerves,” confessed the Briton.

“It’s even better than the first time, it was five years of waiting, too long,” he added.

In a particularly uncertain edition, Sunderland, leader of the general during the first week, encouraged the last days to snatch the leadership from his brother-in-law Van Beveren (he is married to the French driver’s sister) on the eve of the arrival.

“The French justice opened an investigation for attempted murder in relation to a terrorist project”


Beyond the fears related to the health situation, other concerns arose throughout this edition, especially as a result of the explosion of a vehicle, the reason for which is unknown at the moment.

This explosion, produced on December 30 in Yedá, seriously injured the French pilot Philippe Boutron, 61, who was repatriated after having been operated on in Saudi Arabia.

The last 10 champions

The 2022 edition, won by Sam Sunderland (GBR / KTM) on motorcycles

  1. 2022: Sam Sunderland (GBR / KTM)

  2. 2021: Kevin Benavides (ARG / Honda)

  3. 2020: Ricky Brabec (USA / Honda)

  4. 2019: Toby Price (AUS / KTM)

  5. 2018: Matthias Walker (AUT/KTM)

  6. 2017: Sam Sunderland (GBR / KTM)

  7. 2016: Toby Price (AUS / KTM)

  8. 2015: Marc Coma (ESP/KTM)

  9. 2014: Marc Coma (ESP/KTM)

  10. 2013: Cyril Despres (FRA / KTM

The French justice opened an investigation for “attempted murder in connection with a terrorist project.”

What continues to be officially described by the organization and the authorities as “an accident”, led to a drastic reinforcement of security measures around the competition.

Saudi leaders, criticized for their failure in the realm of human rights, have for years used sport as a smokescreen to improve the country’s image on the international scene.

Most successful drivers

  1. 14 wins: Stéphane Peterhansel (FRA) (1991, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1997 and 1998 on motorcycles; 2004, 2005, 2007, 2012, 2013, 2016, 2017 and 2021 on cars)

  2. 5: Cyril Neveu (FRA) (1979, 1980, 1982, 1986 y 1987 in motorcycles)

  3. Cyril Despres (FRA) (2005, 2007, 2010, 2012 and 2013 on motorcycles)

  4. Marc Coma (ESP) (2006, 2009, 2011, 2014 and 2015 on motorcycles)

  5. 4: Ari Vatanen (FIN) (1987, 1989, 1990 and 1991 on cars)

  6. Edi Orioli (ITA) (1988, 1990, 1994 and 1996 on motorcycles)

  7. Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT) (2011, 2015, 2019 and 2022 in cars)

Leave a Reply