Dries Vanthoor and WRT win the Dubai 24 Hours

©  Communications Audi Sport customer racing

Dries Vanthoor has won the seventeenth edition of the Dubai 24 Hours on Saturday with the Belgian racing stable WRT.

Maarten DelvauxSource: BELGIAN

Today at 12:37

For the Hainaut stable it was already the second victory in Dubai after 2016. The Audi R8 LMS containing, in addition to Vanthoor, Christopher Mies, Mohammed Saud Fahal Al Saud, Axcill Jefferies and Thomas Neubauer won by one lap over the WRT-Audi of our compatriot Frédéric Vervisch, Benjamin Goethe, Arnold Robin, Maxime Robin and Jean Baptiste Simmenauer. The third podium place went to the Mercedes-AMG GT3 of Kenny Habul, Mikaël Grenier, Maro Engel and Jules Gounon. They finished three laps behind.

The Audi R8 GT2 of our compatriots Stienes Longin, Bert Longin, Peter Guelinckx and Stijn Lowette won the GTX class and finished in 25th place in the general classification. Former cyclist Tom Boonen (Porsche 992 Cup) was second in the 992-AM class and 27th in the final standings, alongside Philippe Wils, Kurt Hensen and Luc Vanderfeesten.

The Audi RS3 LMS of Mathieu Detry, Stéphane Perrin, Yannick Mettler and Miklas Born had some bad luck and eventually did not get further than 40th place in the final standings, good for second place in the TCR class.

Leave a Reply