Hong Kong bans stopovers from flights from more than 100 countries
Hong Kong bans stopovers from flights from more than 100 countries

Beijing, – The airport authorities from Hong Kong announced this Friday the temporary ban on stopovers for passengers from more than one hundred countries in order to “control the spread of the omicron variant” of SARS-CoV-2, reported today the local news agency Xinhua.

People who have passed through a territory classified as group A (high risk), which includes more than one hundred countries and regions, will be prohibited from stopping in the former British colony until February 15.

We recommend reading:
Dominican Republic authorizes flights from the Russian city of Yekaterinburg
Samaná airport receives its first direct flight with Madrid

The semi-autonomous territory maintains a zero-tolerance strategy against the coronavirus, in line with the tactic used by Beijing, and requires 21 days of strict quarantine in a hotel for passengers from abroad.

Hong Kong was one of the first territories outside of South Africa to report the discovery of people infected with the omicron variant in late November in two men who were quarantined in one of the airport hotels in the former British colony.

There are currently 312 active cases of covid-19 in the semi-autonomous city.

The appearance of the omicron variant in Hong Kong paralyzed plans to reopen the border with the Chinese mainland, which has not yet taken place despite the fact that Hong Kong media estimated that it would happen last December.

According to official data, since the beginning of the pandemic, Hong Kong has registered 12,852 covid-19 infections and 213 deaths among its population of 7.4 million inhabitants.

Leave a Reply