Writer and visual artist Humberto Espíndola.  (Photo: Disclosure)
Writer and visual artist Humberto Espíndola. (Photo: Disclosure)

The poet and essayist, Ana Maria Bernardelli and the writer and artist Humberto Espíndola were elected this Wednesday afternoon (13) the new immortals of the Academia Sul-Mato-Grossense de Letras. Ana Maria will occupy chair number 27, which was occupied by academic Lélia Rita de Figueiredo Ribeiro, who died in 2020. Humberto Espíndola will occupy chair number 38, in succession of the late academic Wilson Barbosa Martins, who died in 2018.

The choice of the new “immortals” was made at the general meeting this Wednesday (13) as provided for in the statute of the academy. Both are to take solemn possession soon. The election took place in the entity’s auditorium and was directed by the current president of the academy, academic Henrique Alberto de Medeiros Filho. The ceremony was attended by academics and followed all biosafety protocols.

– Ana Maria Carneiro Bernardelli is a poet, essayist, literary critic and lecturer. Graduated in Letters, specialist teacher in Brazilian and Portuguese Literature. Certified musician by the Arts Center of Rio de Janeiro. Graduated in French Language and Literature from the Université de Nancy, France and is a member of the Mato Grosso Folklore Commission.

For three decades, from 1974 to 2000, he taught from basic education to university – where he prioritized the teaching of Brazilian Literature and Portuguese Literature.

In 2014 he published the collection of poems Emoções drop a drop, an intertextual work: poetry, painting and music. In 2017, he co-organized “101 Reinvenções”, an Anthology of 101 poets from MS, with poems inspired by the poetics of Manoel de Barros; in 2018, Prosas e Segredos da Morena, a collection of short stories based on the city of Campo Grande MS; and “101 Reinvençõezinhas” – anthology of children’s poems. In 2020, he launched the book of poems: Na Trilha das Formigas (Ed. Life, Campo Grande).

Humberto Augusto Miranda Espíndola is a writer and plastic artist, the first State Secretary of Culture of MS (1987/90), holder of relevant cultural and artistic awards. Author of the book “Pintura e Verso” (Ed. Entrelinhas, 2017). He holds a degree in journalism from the Faculty of Philosophy, Sciences and Letters of the Catholic University of Paraná. Also an art critic, he is a member of the Brazilian Association of Art Critics.

He represented Brazil at the 10th and 11th SP International Biennial (1969-1971), 2nd Medellín Biennial (Colombia, 1972), 36th Venice Biennale (Italy, 1972), 1st Ibero-American Biennial (Mexico, 1978), 1st Bienal Havana (Cuba, 1984) and the 2nd Bienal de Cuenca (Ecuador, 1989).

His works are part of museum collections and collections in Brazil and abroad. He was artistic manager of the Museum of Contemporary Art of MS, 2002/2005; Visual Arts Coordinator of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd South America Festival, Corumbá/MS. With Aline Figueiredo, he organized the book “MACP – Cultural animation and inventory of the UFMT MACP collection” (Ed. Entrelinhas, 2010). In 2019, he was awarded the title of Doctor Honoris Causa by UCDB and UFMS, for relevant services rendered to art and culture.

The gym – Currently celebrating its fiftieth anniversary, the Academia Sul-Mato-Grossense de Letras – with 40 Chairs for life, similar to the ABL – was founded by writers Ulisses Serra, Germano de Souza and José Couto Pontes on October 30, 1971. ASL members are: Abram Razuk; Altevir Soares Alencar; Américo Ferreira Calheiros; Antonio João Hugo Rodrigues; Augusto César Proença; Elizabeth Fonseca; Emmanuel Marinho; Enilda Mougenot Pires; Francisco Leal de Queiroz; Geraldo Ramon Pereira; Guimaraes Rocha; Henrique Alberto de Medeiros Filho; Ileides Muller; José Couto Vieira Pontes; José Pedro Frazão; Lenilde Ramos; Lucilene Machado Garcia Arf; Maria Adelia Menegazzo; Marisa Serrano; Orlando Antunes Batista; Oswaldo Barbosa Almeida; Paulo Correa de Oliveira; Paulo Sérgio Nolasco dos Santos; Paulo Tadeu Haendchen; Fr. Afonso de Castro; Pedro Chaves dos Santos Filho; Raquel Naveira; Reginaldo Alves de Araújo; Renato Toniasso; Rubenio Marcelo; Samuel Xavier Medeiros; Theresa Hilcar and Valmir Batista Corrêa. Ana Maria Bernardelli and Humberto Espíndola were elected and are awaiting inauguration ceremonies.

Enjoy Side B on Facebook. Do you have a nice agenda to suggest? Send through social networks, e-mail:[email protected] or Direto das Ruas via WhatsApp at Campo Grande News (67) 99669-9563.

Leave a Reply