Index - Domestic - Hungary has really blocked the joint statement in the EEA Council

As we reported yesterday, for the first time in thirty years, the European Economic Area (EEA), which includes the Member States of the European Union and Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, will not adopt a joint final declaration after its meeting in Brussels. Hungary prevented the publication of the announcement.

The Hungarian veto is probably due to the fact that Norway did not provide support to Hungary from the Norwegian Fund in the 2014–2020 budget cycle. We could not access the HUF 77 billion source because no agreement could be reached on the distribution of the amount due to civilians.

We note that the EU side has not been able to reach an internal consensus on the proposed declaration by the EEA Council, but we are confident that cooperation will continue as before, in the interests of both the Union and the three countries.

He told spokesman for Norwegian Foreign Minister Anniken Huitfeldt, who chaired the meeting.

Leave a Reply