Again, a Toyota win at the 24 Hours of Le Mans

In the 90th legendary battle, a trio of Sebastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley and Hirakava Rjo triumphed, ahead of Toyota’s other team, the defending unit consisting of Mike Conway, Jose Maria Lopez and Kamui Kobajasi.

The Swiss Buemi reaped its fourth victory at Le Mans as it was not part of last year’s Toyota success alone. Interestingly, the Hollywood movie star Michael Fassbender also started in the race, but he also got involved in two accidents in the race, just as he had an accident on the time trial. In the video below, mechanics are trying to repair the actor’s car, not necessarily using engineering methods:

Final result:

1. Sébastien Buemi, Hirakava Rjo, Brendon Hartley (Switzerland, Japan, New Zealand, Toyota) 380 laps
2. Mike Conway, Kamui of Kobajasi, José Maria Lopez (British, Japanese, Argentine, Toyota) 2: 01.22 minutes disadvantage
3. Ryan Briscoe, Richard Westbrook, Franck Mailleux (Australian, British, French, Glickenhaus) 5 lap disadvantage


(Cover image: Car of the winning Toyota team. Photo: Ker Robertson / Getty Images)

Leave a Reply