Ajax is champion of the Netherlands for the 36th time after forfeit against Heerenveen


Ajax crowned itself Dutch champion for the 36th time on Wednesday evening on the penultimate match day of the Eredivisie. At home against Heerenveen, a simple 5-0 win was enough to keep first pursuer PSV on an unbridgeable four-point gap.

Wim Conings

Ajax already led 3-0 at halftime. Nicolas Tagliafico opened the scoring in the 19th minute. Steven Berghuis scored the 2-0 in the 33rd minute and was awarded a penalty 5 minutes later, which Sébastien Haller took advantage of. The striker celebrated his 21st league goal. Substitute Brian Brobbey (85.) and Edson Alvarez (90.) signed for the final score in the final phase.

PSV’s first pursuer defeated NEC 3-2. The club from Eindhoven is in the position on four points from Ajax, an unbridgeable gap with barely a match left.

It is the 36th national title in club history for Ajax and the second consecutive (after 2020/21). After the 2019/20 season, no champion was designated in the Netherlands, because the Eredivisie was cut short due to the corona pandemic. The team from Amsterdam was also the best in 2018/19, the title went to PSV the season before.

Leave a Reply