Facebook will end at the end of May Friends nearby function. However, Meta did not state the reasons for the decision, but added that information related to the features will also be deleted from Facebook’s servers, writes hwsw.hu.
As they write, users will be notified in iOS and Android apps that the location sharing feature will be unavailable from May 31, after which data collected with Location History and Location Backup will no longer be available.
However, this does not mean that the application will completely stop collecting this type of data. The company said the collection of users’ locations will continue. However, anyone who wishes can revoke access to the app at any time.