G7 foreign ministers kick off a three-day meeting at Schloss Weissenhaus

The G7 foreign ministers said on Saturday that the group will never recognize the borders that Russia intends to impose by the force of the war in Ukraine.

“We will never recognize the borders that Russia is trying to change with its military intervention,” the ministers said, in a statement released as part of a three-day meeting in Wangels, northern Germany.

In the statement, the diplomats again appealed to Belarus to “stop facilitating Russia’s intervention and respect its international commitments”.

The G7 foreign ministers kicked off a three-day meeting on Thursday in Schloss Weissenhaus, on the Baltic Sea coast in Germany, which currently holds the group’s rotating annual presidency.

In addition to Germany, the G7 includes Canada, the United States, France, Italy, Japan and the United Kingdom, with the European Union (EU) also participating in the group’s meetings.

Leave a Reply