Honorary Oscar goes to Michael J. Fox

With the Academy Academy’s Honorary Oscars, the board’s governors recognize outstanding artists in the film industry each year.

David Rubin, president of the film academy, highlighted that Michael J. Fox, who was awarded the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award this year, “tirelessly supports research into Parkinson’s and his boundless optimism exemplifies the impact a single person has on changing the future of millions”.

Inspirational and high-impact filmmakers

Euzhan Palcyt he was praised by the president of the film academy as a pioneer filmmaker in film history. In relation to Diane Warren, he emphasized that “his music and lyrics have enhanced the emotional impact of countless moving images and inspired generations of music artists.”

Palcy of Martinique has also gained recognition as a screenwriter, director and producer during his career. His debut feature film, The Street of the Negro, presented in 1983, won the Silver Lion at the Venice Film Festival, making him the first black director to receive this prestigious award. He directed Marlon Brando in the drama The Rising Season, and his last work as a film director was the musical fairy tale film Siméon (1992).

The film director About Peter Weir he remembered as an artist “whose work reminds us of the power of film to showcase the full range of human experiences”.

The Australian Weir has directed memorable films over the past 40 years, such as Picnic at the Hanging Rock (1975), After Me on the Flood (1977), The Year of Dangerous Life (1982) or The Little Eyewitness (1985), for which he was first nominated for an Oscar. received a nomination. He was nominated for five more awards by the Film Academy for his films The Society of the Dead Poets, The Green Card, The Truman Show, and The Captain and the Soldier: On The Other Side of the World, the latter in two categories.

Diane Warren one of the most prolific songwriters in film history, he has written original songs for more than 100 films. The film won 13 Oscar nominations in the category, including Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now and most recently Somehow You Do.

Michael J. Fox in addition to his four Oscar-winning Back to the Future (1985), he has been featured in classics such as The Victims of War (1989), Doc Hollywood (1991), Love in the White House (1995), or Break Out! (1996). During his television career, he collected five Emmy Awards, including Kerge City and Save! for series. Fox founded the Michael J. Fox Foundation in 2000 to research Parkinson’s disease. His four books have also been released, and Oscar-winning filmmaker Davis Guggenheim is about to make a documentary about it.

Last year, the Jean Hersholt Prize went to Danny Glover and the other honorary Oscars went to Samuel L. Jackson, Elaine May and Liv Ullmann. The 95th Oscar Gala will be held on March 12, 2023.


Leave a Reply