Russian President Vladimir Putin

Russian President Vladimir Putin banned this Friday by decree to investors from countries considered hostile” to Russia, and until the end of the year, any type of operations with their stakes in strategic companies.

The statement, which particularly covers the country’s energy and banking sectors, states that the ban, both for legal and physical persons, extends to all strategic companies and public limited companies, and their subsidiaries, as well as to gas projects. Sajalin and Jariaga oil, respectively in the Far East and Northwest Siberia.

The presidential measure also covers transactions with the shares of companies that benefit from all major deposits of oil, gas, coal, as well as uranium, quartz, cobalt, tantalum, niobium, beryllium, copper, diamonds, gold, lithium and platinum metals.

Putin also ordered the Government and the Central Bank of Russia to draw up, within ten days, a list of companies and banks from hostile countries that are prohibited from carrying out investment operations.

“Operations prohibited by this decree can be carried out with a special authorization from the President of the Russian Federation”, the document states.

Leave a Reply