Everything indicates that the goal that Lautaro Martínez disallowed was legal.
  • Post author:
  • Post category:News
  • Post comments:0 Comments

Although the technology applied in this edition of the World Cup in Qatar 2022 is completely avant-garde and “the latest of the latest”, some suspicions -more when the result is not the desired-, show that it also could be “wrong”.

Argentina lost an incredible match against Saudi Arabia by 2 to 1 in the debut of the World Cup, for Group C. But in addition to this bump, the salient theme was the interference that the VAR had in the result. It happens that the system annulled three goals against the national team by off side, which would have allowed him to end the first half with a significant difference.

The wrong reference: there was another player in the last defensive line that enabled Martínez.

In the last few hours controversy broke out because, according to the images that transcendedthe position of Lautaro Martínez with respect to the two players who were “on their line” but only one of them. The second, however, enabled the “Bull”.

After Lionel Messi opened the scoring, also a play by the captain that ended in a goal would be correctly annulled in favor of the Saudi team. But the controversy would come later.

How was the play of the controversy

Later, after a pass from Alejandro “Papu” Gómez, the Inter striker pounced between Hassan Altambakti and Saud Abdulhamid and defined above before the departure of goalkeeper Mohammed Al Owais. But then again the VAR acted again,

The referee in charge of controlling the offside was the Algerian Abdelhak Etchiali, but he made a big mistake, since he took Abdulhamid as a reference to establish the last defensive line. Of course: in that position, Martinez’s shoulder was offside.

Everything indicates that the goal that Lautaro Martínez disallowed was legal.

Everything indicates that the goal that Lautaro Martínez disallowed was legal.

Nevertheless, Abdulhamid was not the last player. The Twitter account @ArchivoVAR uploaded an image where it can be seen that the line drawing was done wrong because the last Saudi man on that defensive line was Yasir Al-Shahrani. This did enable the Argentine by millimeters, but the technology played a terrible pass on the national team, sending it to rest with only one goal ahead.

Like little, at 33′ another goal from “Toro” would also be annulled. In total, there were seven offsides that the team recorded during the first half.

Leave a Reply