The 2027 Rugby World Cup will be played in Australia and the next one will be in the United States


In this framework, the president of the entity, Sir Bill Beaumontasserted: “We approved three exceptional host nations for Rugby World Cup – England, Australia and the USA – providing unprecedented certainty and an unparalleled opportunity to accelerate the growth and impact of rugby globally. It’s great for rugby, fans and communities. host nations.

For his part, the owner of australian rugby, Hamish McLennanstated that it was “an historic day for Australian rugby” and that are found “More than excited to welcome not one, but two World Cups.”

“It will change rugby in this country; it is a once-in-a-generation chance to reinvigorate and secure the future of rugby in this country.”asserted McLennan.

As for the USAis the culmination of a long rugby development project, in particular with Major League Rugby. President Joe Biden it had also boosted the American candidacy.

To these voices was also added that of the CEO from USA Rugby, Ross Youngwho noted: “I speak on behalf of the rugby community and fans in the United States when I express our sincere gratitude to World Rugby for their trust and support of our vision to grow this incredible sport exponentially across our country.”

So far, the men’s World Cups have been as follows:

+ 1987 in Australia and New Zealand, New Zealand champion.

+ 1991 in the United Kingdom, Ireland and France, champion Australia.

+ 1995 in South Africa, champion South Africa

+ 1999 in the United Kingdom, Ireland and France, champion Australia

+ 2003 in Australia, England champion

+ 2007 in France, Wales and Scotland, South African champion

+ 2011 in New Zealand, champion New Zealand

+ 2015 in England and Wales, New Zealand champion┬┤

+ 2019 in Japan, champion South Africa

Leave a Reply