Leon Goretzka laments after Japan's upset win over Germany on Matchday 1
  • Post author:
  • Post category:News
  • Post comments:0 Comments

The first date of the Qatar 2022 World Cup brought several surprises. First, Argentina was defeated by Saudi Arabia 2-1 and cut a streak of 36 games without defeat (they had not lost since the semifinals of the Copa América 2021, when they fell 2-0 with Brazil). Then, group E was in charge of alerting the entire soccer planet with two unexpected results: Germany lost 2-1 to Japan.Y Spain beat Costa Rica 7-0in the greatest win in the history of the Red in World Cups.

These results changed the outlook for many teams in view of their aspirations in the current World Cup tournament. And the bookmakers, as usual, took note of that.. The forecasts were widely modified with respect to the previous one of the competition and now, Argentina appears in fifth place among the favorites (before the start she appeared second), and raised her odds from 7.00 to 9.50. Also, Germany, which was fifth, is positioned in ninth place with odds of up to 26.00!

Leon Goretzka laments after Japan’s upset win over Germany on Matchday 1INA FASSBENDER – AFP

Spain, for its part, caught fire in the candidate fight with its historic win against the Tico cast. He replaced ‘mano a mano’ in the table of candidates for the Argentine team and went from fifth to second place. Without scales. Luis Enrique’s team is now only behind Brazilfavorite not only in betting, but also in statistical predictions created by platforms specialized in tactical analysis.

Those led by Tité did not disappoint and kept the three points after beating Serbia 2-0 at the close of date 1 of group H, which also served as the closing of the first day of the World Cup. This Friday begins date 2 with four confrontations: Wales vs. They will go at 7 for group B at the Ahmad bin Ali Stadium, Qatar vs. Senegal at 10 for group A at the Al Thumama Stadium, Netherlands vs. Ecuador at 13 for group A at the Khalifa Stadium, and England vs. United States at 16 for group B at Al Bayt Stadium. All times correspond to Argentina.

In the previous to the ecumenical appointment Argentina was the second highest candidate for the coronation with a payout cap of 7.00. His growth in forecasts, beyond the fact that he was champion of the Copa América 2021 and shone in the Finalíssima with Italy at Wembley, was related to difficulties in England and France, teams that in the last year accompanied Brazil on the podium of favorites and were relegated due to poor results in the previous competition, although they began their journey in the current World Cup edition with victories (6-2 to Iran Y 4-1 to Australiarespectively).

Lionel Messi did not have his best game against Saudi Arabia and the team was defeated 2-1
Lionel Messi did not have his best game against Saudi Arabia and the team was defeated 2-1ANTONIN THUILLIER – AFP

If the betting forecasts are fulfilled, Brazil would achieve its sixth World Cup because it was already champion in Sweden 1958, Chile 1962, Italy 1970, United States 1994 and Korea-Japan 2002. In two other editions he was a finalist: Brazil 1950 and France 1998.

Brazil is the most winner of the World Cup and the last trophy was lifted in 2002
Brazil is the most winner of the World Cup and the last trophy was lifted in 2002EFE

Germany has a more disputed final -8-, but one less won. It was crowned in Switzerland 1954, Germany 1974, Italy 1990 and Brazil 2014 while it fell in England 1966, Spain 1982, Mexico 1986 and Korea-Japan 2002. Italy, although it is not present in this edition, also took four Olympic tours: Italy 1934, France 1938, Spain 1982 and Germany 2006.

Further back in the count are Argentina, France and Uruguay with two tournaments each. The albiceleste touched the sky with their hands in Argentina 1978 and Mexico 1986, while they were runner-up in Uruguay 1930, Italy 1990 and Brazil 2014. The French team kept the trophy in France 1998 and Russia 2018 and gave up in the definition of Germany 2006. Uruguay, for its part, won the editions of Uruguay 1930 and Brazil 1950.

Two countries have a World Cup. England got it at home in 1966 and Spain in South Africa 2010. Together with Uruguay, they are the only teams that have never lost a decisive duel.


Get to know The Trust Project

Leave a Reply