Azteca Stadium

The tournament will be held in three countries for the first time. Matches will be hosted by three cities in Mexico, two in Canada and 11 in the US

Read us at


Azteca Stadium

(Photo: Hector Vivas/Getty Images)

FIFA named 16 cities that will host the 2026 FIFA World Cup. The tournament will be held for the first time in three countries – the USA, Canada and Mexico.

For the first time, 48 teams will play in the World Cup.

The list of host cities is as follows:

USA: Atlanta, Boston, Dallas, Kansas City, Los Angeles, Miami, New York/New Jersey, San Francisco, Seattle, Philadelphia, Houston.

Canada: Vancouver, Toronto.

Mexico – Guadalajara, Mexico City, Monterrey.

Washington, which claimed the World Cup games together with Baltimore, was not included in the number of host cities in the United States. All 11 selected stadiums in the United States are the home arenas of the NFL (professional league of American football).

Victor Montagliani, head of the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Football (CONCACAF), said FIFA was “delighted by the unprecedented competitiveness” of the host city selection process.

The head of FIFA assessed the need to reduce the playing time of matches

Gianni Infantino

With a capacity of more than 87,000 spectators, the Azteca Stadium in Mexico City will be the first to host matches from three different world championships. It previously hosted the 1968 and 1970 tournaments, including the final matches.

The arenas that will host the opening match and the final will be determined at a later date.

Leave a Reply