Arnaud Démare sprints with force majeure to victory in the final stage, Ethan Hayter is the overall winner of the Tour of Poland


Arnaud Démare has won the final stage in the Tour of Poland. The 30-year-old Frenchman of Groupama – FDJ overtook Olav Kooij and Phil Bauhaus in a bunch sprint. Our compatriot Gerben Thijssen was fifth. The overall victory of the young Briton Ethan Hayter (23) was no longer in danger.

Source: Belgium

The Frenchman made it after 177.8 km from Valsir to Krakow in a bunch sprint. The riders had to climb three categorized climbs along the way, but the final was flat.

The Dane Julius Johansen (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux), the Australian Jarrad Drizners (Lotto Soudal), the Norwegian Syver Waersted (Uno-X) and the Italian Alessandro De Marchi (Israel-Premier Tech) signed for the flight of the day . They chose the harepath early in the stage and gathered a lead of about four minutes. After Waersted dropped out, three more leaders stayed ahead but the sprinters’ teams kept them in their sights. De Marchi struggled the longest on the local circuit in Krakow, but he too could not avoid the group sprint together with Frenchman Nans Peters, who escaped from the peloton. Démare was clearly the fastest in this. Gerben Thijssen (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux) was the first Belgian in fifth place.

Ethan Hayter took the lead in the standings on Thursday after finishing third in the individual time trial. In the final standings, he is 11 seconds ahead of the Dutchman Thyman Arensman (Team DSM) and 18 seconds on the Spaniard Pello Bilbao (Bahrain-Victorious). He succeeds the Portuguese João Almeida on the honors list of the Tour of Poland. He didn’t defend his title.

Earlier this season, 23-year-old Hayter already won a stage in the Coppi & Bartali Cycling Week, two in the Tour de Romandie, one in the Tour of Norway and the national time trial championship.

Here is inserted content from a social media network that wants to write or read cookies. You have not given permission for this.

Result stage 7

1. Arnaud Demare

2. Olav Kooij

3. Phil Bauhaus

4. Max Kanter

5. Gerben Thijssen

6. Marijn van den Berg

7. Davide Cimolai

8. Edward Theuns

9. Pascal Ackermann

10. Quays Groves

Final classification Tour of Poland 2022

1. Ethan Hayter at 28h26’23”

2. Thymen Arensman 11”

3. Peio Bilbao 18”

4. Matteo Sobrero 23”

5. Ben Tulett 25”

6. Remi Cavagna 31”

7. Samuele Battistella 32”

8. Sergio Higuita 32”

9. Diego Ulissi 45”

10. Bruno Armirail 50”

Leave a Reply