Attention!  Mathieu van der Poel will clash with world champion Tom Pidcock and co on Sunday at 12:15 pm, because… the Red Devils are playing football

READ ALSO. Mathieu van der Poel is ambitiously starting the cyclocross season this weekend: “I think I have the condition to win”

The reason is not far to seek: Hulst is located in Zeeland, but is and remains a Dutch border town that not only gets its supporters from its own country, but also from Belgium. And now just at 2 p.m. let our Red Devils play football against Morocco in Qatar… Because this can be an ugly line through the bill, the organizer turned everything around. By the time the anthems of our country and Morocco are played, the ceremony protocol of the seventh round of the World Cup will already be over. In Hulst, the Belgians can even kill two birds with one stone, because after the women’s and men’s games, they have the choice to watch the juniors and the other youth competitions and at the same time keep an eye on the big screen on which the international match is played. projected.

In the Urban Cross in Kortrijk, on the other hand, they keep everything the same. In other words: no horde of spectators is expected from the Netherlands and, on the other hand, everything has already been neatly finished in the center of Kortrijk by the time the Orange takes on Ecuador at 5 p.m.

Technical data of this cross weekend:


Saturday November 26: X2O Trophy Kortrijk

* Program:

9.15am: junior girls, 11am: junior boys, 12.15pm: U23 men, 1.45pm: elite women, 3pm: elite men

* Main participants:

Women: Marianne Vos (Ned, Jumbo-Visma), Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Ned, Alpecin-Deceuninck), Denise Betsema (Ned, Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal), Aniek van Alphen (Ned, 777), Lucinda Brand (Ned, Baloise Trek Lions ), Yara Kastelijn (Ned), Sanne Cant and Marion Norbert-Riberolle (Crelan-Fristads), Zoe Bäckstedt (Gbr, EF Education-Tibco-SVB), Marie Schreiber (Lux, Tormans Cycling).

Men: Eli Iserbyt, Michael Vanthourenhout and Niels Vandeputte (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Thibau Nys, Lars van der Haar (Ned, Joris Nieuwenhuis (Ned) and Pim Ronhaar (Ned, Baloise Trek Lions), Corné van Kessel (Ned, Tormans Cycling), Felipe Orts Lloret (Spa, Teika-BH-Gsport), Jens Adams (Chocovit)

* Stand X2O Trophy

Women: 1. Fem van Empel (Ned, Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal), 2. Denise Betsema at 57”, 3. Shirin van Anrooij (Ned) 1’24”, 4. Clara Honsinger (Vst) 2’19”, 5. Marie Schreiber (Lux) 2’59”, 6. Aniek van Alphen (Ned) 3’25”, 7. Isabella Holmgren (Can) 4’51”, 8. Kiona Crabbé 4’54”, 9. Ava Holmgren (Can) 4’56”, 10. Ella McLean-Howell (Gbr) 4’58”.

Men: 1. Lars van der Haar (Ned, Baloise Trek Lions), 2. Eli Iserbyt at 5”, 3. Michael Vanthourenhout 11”, 4. Jens Adams 34”, 5. Pim Ronhaar (Ned) 1’01”, 6. Lander Loocks 1’18”; 7. Thibau Nys 1’26”, 8. Toon Vandebosch 1’48”, 9. Thomas Mein (Gbr) 2’13”, 10. Niels Vandeputte 2’23”.

* Honors record:

Women: 2021: Lucinda Brand (Ned), 2020: Lucinda Brand (Ned), 2019: Lucinda Brand (Ned)

Men: 2021: Toon Aerts, 2020: Eli Iserbyt, 2019: Mathieu van der Poel (Ned)


Sunday November 27: Holly World Cup

* Program:

11 a.m.: Women’s Elite World Cup, 12.15 p.m.: Men’s Elite World Cup, 2 p.m.: junior boys, 3.15 p.m.: novice boys, 3.17 p.m.: novice girls.

* Main participants:

Women: Fem van Empel (Ned), Denise Betsema (Ned), Yara Kastelijn (Ned), Puck Pieterse (Ned), Shirin van Anrooij (Ned), Inge van der Heijden (Ned), Hélène Chauzel (Fra), Sanne Cant, Marion Norbert Riberolle, Anna Kay.

Men: Tom Pidcock (Gbr), Mathieu van der Poel (Ned), Lars van der Haar (Ned), Corné van Kessel (Ned), Eli Iserbyt, Michael Vanthourenhout, Laurens Sweeck, Daan Soete, Kevin Kuhn (Zwi) and Felipe Orts Lloret (Spa).

* World Cup standings

vto grieve: 1. Fem van Empel (Ned) 220 points, 2. Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Ned) 130, 3. Puck Pieterse (Ned) 125, 4. Denise Betsema (Ned) 120, 5. Inge van der Heijden (Ned) 110 , 6. Shirin van Anrooij (Ned) 109, 7. Lucinda Brand (Ned) 96, 8. Clara Honsinger (Vst) 85, 9. Annemarie Worst (Ned) 80, 10. Hélène Clauzel (Fra) 67.

mann: 1. Eli Iserbyt 185 points, 2. Laurens Sweeck 184, 3. Michael Vanthourenhout 159, 4. Lars van der Haar (Ned) 140, 5. Niels Vandeputte 107, 6. Toon Vandebosch 78, 7. Daan Soete 73, 8. Jens Adams 71, 9. Kevin Kuhn (Zwi) 65, 10. Ryan Kamp (Ned) 64.

* Honors:

Women: 2022: Lucinda Brand (Ned), 2021: Denise Betsema (Ned), 2020: Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Ned), 2019: Denise Betsema (Ned), 2018: Laura Verdonschot, 2017: Sanne Cant.

Men: 2022: Tom Pidcock (Gbr), 2021: Mathieu van der Poel (Ned), 2020: Eli Iserbyt, 2019: Mathieu van der Poel (Ned), 2018: Mathieu van der Poel (Ned), 2017: Mathieu van der Poel ( Ned).

Leave a Reply