Davis Cup: With eight countries in the running, find out the format, who plays and where to watch the finals

From this Tuesday (22), the final phase of the Davis Cup begins, a tournament that closes this year’s tennis season calendar. The competition, which takes place in Malaga, Spain, will bring together eight countries to define who will win the title of the 110th edition of the traditional tournament between nations of the men’s circuit. Check out the format, who plays and where to watch the Davis Cup!


Eight countries go straight into the quarter-finals after qualifying in the preliminary rounds in September. Who advances, reaches the semifinals and then the final. Each clash between nations is decided in the best of three games (two singles and one doubles). Matches will take place in the best of three sets.

The ranked countries are: Germany, Australia, Canada, Croatia, Spain, United States, Netherlands and Italy🇧🇷

Who plays

There are five top 20 confirmed in the Davis Cup finals. A highlight is the presence of the Canadian Félix Auger-Aliassime, current number 6 in the world. O American Taylor Fritz is another name of guaranteed weight. In addition to them, the Croatian Marin CilicO Canadian Denis Shapovalov it’s the American Frances Tiafoe complete the list.

Check out the rosters of the eight teams:

Germany: Oscar Otte, Jan-Lennard Struff, Yannick Hanfmann, Tim Puetz and Kevin Krawietz.

Australia: Alex de Miñaur, Thanasi Kokkinakis, Max Purcell, Matthew Ebden and Jordan Thompson.

Canada: Félix Auger-Aliassime, Denis Shapovalov and Vasek Pospisil.

Croatia: Marin Cilic, Borna Coric, Mate Pavic and Nikola Mektic.

Spain: Pablo Carreño Busta, Roberto Bautista Agut, Albert Ramos-Viñolas, Marcel Granollers and Pedro Martínez.

United States: Taylor Fritz, Frances Tiafoe, Tommy Paul and Jack Sock.

Netherlands: Botic Van de Zandschulp, Tallon Griekspoor, Tim Van Rijthoven, Wesley Koolhof and Matwe Middelkoop.

Italy: Lorenzo Musetti, Lorenzo Sonego, Fabio Fognini and Simone Bolelli.


Because there is a pre-match draw, all the knockout matches in the quarterfinals are known and the path for each of the nations to reach the decision. On one side, Italy faces the United States, while Germany duels against Canada. In the other section, Holland faces Australia, in addition to having Spain against Croatia.

Davis Cup: where to watch

The Davis Cup will be shown in full for Brazil on Direct TV. The tournament takes place between the 22nd and 27th of November, in the city of Malaga, Spain. The semis will take place between the 25th and 26th, while the decision will be on the 27th. As an absence, Russia, the current champion, is suspended from the competition due to the War in Ukraine.

Leave a Reply