Matevz Govekar is fastest escapee, Pieter Serry just misses podium in Tour of Burgos

Matevz Govekar (Bahrain-Victorius) took to his name on Friday the fourth stage of the Tour of Burgos (cat. 2. Pro), with start in Torresandino and finish after 169 kilometers in Ciudad Romana de Clunia. The 22-year-old Slovenian was the fastest after a sprint with seven ahead of Frenchman Valentin Retailleau and Israeli Omer Goldstein. Pieter Serry was fourth.

Source: BELGA

In the general classification, Pavel Sivakov (Ineos Grenadiers) remains the leader. He is 23 seconds ahead of the Colombian Santiago Buitrago and 26 on the Portuguese Ruben Guerreiro. Earlier this season, Govekar won the prologue of the Istrian Spring Trophy and was second behind Kristijan Koren in the Slovenian National Championship.

A large leading group with fourteen riders soon formed. In addition to Serry, Govekar, Retailleau and Goldstein, Patrick Gamper, Lluis Mas, Lennard Hofstede, Fernando Gaviria, Dario Cataldo, David De La Cruz, Fernando Barcelo, Xabier Mikel Azparren, David Martin and Brandon Smith Rivera were part of this. The latter was the best classified rider at 3:18 from leader Sivakov and at one point even became a big virtual leader.

The Spanish teams Burgos-BH and Equipo Kern Pharma had missed the flight of the day and took the lead in the peloton. With 40 kilometers to go, the leading group exploded and only Serry, Govekar, Retailleau, Goldstein, Mas and Mikel Azparren remained in the front. Gamper still managed to hang his cart with the leaders and that way we got seven refugees with 30 kilometers to go. In the large group, the men of Ineos Grenadiers, with leader Sivakov in their ranks, also took their responsibility and immediately did something about the gift of the seven leaders so that the leader’s jersey would remain on the shoulders of the Frenchman.

In the last four kilometers Gamper accelerated but his effort quickly foundered. Azparren followed, but he too was quickly called to order. In the end it turned out to be a sprint with seven and Govekar turned out to be the strongest.

Tomorrow/Saturday the curtain will fall on this 44th edition of the Tour of Burgos. The riders will then ride from Lermas to Lagunas de Neila where an uphill finish awaits. We immediately know the successor to Mikel Landa.

Here is inserted content from a social media network that wants to write or read cookies. You have not given permission for this.

Result stage 4

1. Matevz Govekar in 3h36’18”

2. Valentin Retailleau +0”

3. Omer Goldstein +0”

4. Pieter Serry +0”

5. Patrick Gamper +0”

6. Xabier Mikkel Azparren +0”

7. Lluis Mas +12”

8. Fernando Barcelo +57”

9. Lennard Hofstede +1’10”

10. David Martin +1’16”

Leave a Reply