Site icon NewsWep

Peñarol and Nacional want to play the Argentine Cup: what is behind the curious initiative of the two great Uruguayans

Boca is the maximum champion of the Argentine Cup with 4 titles.  Photo: Telam.

The return of the Argentine Cup in the 2011-12 season was a real success. Motivated by the Football for All agreement, which required “a contest in which all the teams in the country participate”, it was Julio Humberto Grondona who brought back a competition that had only had two editions, in 1969 and 1970.

This determination allowed the different promotion clubs to measure themselves against the most important First Division teams and for their players to show themselves to the general public. In addition, it is and continues to be an excellent opportunity for fans from different provinces to get closer to footballers.

This contest, recognized for narrowing the differences between categories, has given great surprises throughout its short history and is watched with admiration from Uruguay. There it is expected that only from next season will debut the brand new Uruguay Cup, with teams from that country. In this context, it was found that Peñarol and Nacional will request to participate in the final phase of the Argentine Cup.

Boca is the maximum champion of the Argentine Cup with 4 titles. Photo: Telam.

Ignacio Ruglio, president of Carbonero, was the one who put the issue on the table. “This idea arose in the context of a trip to Buenos Aires to meet with soccer people and friends. If I get some time with Chiqui Tapia, I have the idea of ​​suggesting that, when the Argentine Cup is beginning to define itself, he invite to Peñarol and Nacional. The Uruguayan teams are not always with international competitions and for a matter of closeness it can be favorable”, commented the leader in dialogue with Tyc Sports.

“It is a good opportunity to compete internationally in a more fluid way, not only in Copa Libertadores and Sudamericana, to improve the level”, added the boss of Manya. “This of having the two greatest Uruguayans in the final instances can serve the Argentine Cup as another marketing instrument”, concluded.

Ignacio Ruglio wants to add Peñarol and Nacional to the Argentine Cup.  Photo: L. Carreño.

Ignacio Ruglio wants to add Peñarol and Nacional to the Argentine Cup. Photo: L. Carreño.

History of the Argentine Cup

The first edition of the Copa Argentina was in 1969 and it was far from the format that is currently known. All the teams that were in the First Division participated, Almagro as the current champion of the Second Division and twelve guests from the interior of the country.

The main idea behind the introduction of this competition was to classify the champion, which ended up being Boca, to the Recopa Sudamericana in 1970. However, Xeneize opted to participate in the Copa Libertadores as the winner of the 1969 National Tournament. Their place was taken by Atlanta , the runner-up.

The following year one of the most curious events in the history of the tournament occurred. In 1970, the year in which River, Boca and Estudiantes did not participate because they were competing internationally, the final was to be played by Vélez and San Lorenzo. They tied 2-2 and had to agree on a date to play the rematch, something that never happened, and therefore there was no champion. This, encouraged by the fact that the South American Recopa was no longer considered official by Conmebol, led to the dissolution of the Argentine Cup.

River won 3 of the last 5 Copa Argentina. Photo: Maxi Failla – FTP CLARIN.

He came back 41 years later. In addition to the aforementioned Football for All agreement, its reissue in the 2011-12 season served to support the 2011 Copa América, which was held in Argentina, and also as a way to calm the conflicts between AFA and the leaders of the Argentine Tournament A and B, who had been demanding to receive, as television rights, the same as those of Metropolitan B and C.

From there, the current format. Teams from all divisions participate, which are integrated as the competition progresses, and head-to-head matches are played on a neutral court. The champion qualifies for the Libertadores.

The champions of the Argentine Cup

  • 1969: Boca Juniors
  • 1970: There was no champion
  • 2012: Boca Juniors (2)
  • 2013: Arsenal
  • 2014: Hurricane
  • 2015: Boca Juniors (3)
  • 2016: River Plate
  • 2017: River Plate (2)
  • 2018: Rosario Central
  • 2019: River Plate (3)
  • 2020-21: Boca Juniors (4)
Exit mobile version