Ecuador fans invaded the Al-Bayt stadium in Al Khor, north of Doha, very early.  Photo: JUAN MABROMATA / AFP.

At the Al Bayt stadium, with a capacity for 60,000 people, the hosts face one of the five South American teams, led by Argentine Gustavo Alfaro. From 1:00 p.m., TV Pública and Directv are televised.

Qatarhost country and rookie in a World Cup, and Ecuador, directed by the Argentine Gustavo Alfaro, will star this Sunday in the opening match of the 22nd. edition of the highest soccer event organized by FIFA. It will be starting at 1:00 p.m. (Argentine time) at the Al Bayt stadium -with capacity for 60,000 spectators-, with arbitration by the Italian Daniele Orsato and television by Public TV and Directv.

For Orsato it will be the first experience in a World Cup and he will be accompanied by Ciro Carbone and Alessandro Giallatini as assistants. In the VAR you will find Massimiliano Irrati.

Group A is completed by Senegal and the Netherlands, who will face each other on Monday at 1:00 p.m. at the Al Thumama stadium.

Just over four years after France’s conquest at Russia 2018, FIFA’s most important competition will begin with the absolute debut of a host country, something that has not happened since Italy 1934.

The current Asian champion will try not to repeat the case of South Africa, which was the only local in history to be eliminated in the group stage.

Ecuador fans invaded the Al-Bayt stadium in Al Khor, north of Doha, very early. Photo: JUAN MABROMATA / AFP.

The rival will be Ecuador’s Gustavo Alfaro from Santa Fe, who qualified after finishing in a creditable third place in the South American Qualifiers below the powers Brazil and Argentina.

The “Tri” has a fourth World Cup participation (2002, 2006 and 2014 the previous ones) involved in the controversy due to the absence of the defender Byron Castillo.

Two weeks after the debut, the TAS ruled against the Ecuadorian Football Federation in the case that Chile denounced for false documentation and, although it did not disqualify Alfaro’s team from the World Cup, it caused the footballer’s removal from the list to avoid possible future sanctions.

-Possible formations-

Qatar: Saad Al Sheeb; Pedro Miguel, Bassam Al-Rawi, Boualem Khoukhi and Abdul Karim Hassan; Mohammed Waad, Karim Boudiaf, Hassan Al Haydos and Abdulaziz Hatem; Almoez Ali and Akram Afif. DT: Felix Sanchez.

Ecuador: Alexander Domínguez or Hernán Galíndez; Ángelo Preciado, Piero Hincapié, Félix Torres and Pervis Estupiñán; Moisés Caicedo, Carlos Gruezo and José Cifuentes; Gonzalo Plata, Enner Valencia and Romario Ibarra. DT: Gustavo Alfaro.

Hour: 13:00

Stadium: Al Bayt Referee: Daniele Orsato (Italy).

TV: Directv and Public TV.

look too

Leave a Reply