Diego Jeria
Libertadores CupComments

At the National Stadium in Lima, Sporting Cristal still complained to the referee Andrés Rojas about the hand of Tomás Asta-Buruaga in the area when regulation time expired. The first duel between both teams for Group H of the Copa Libertadores was also controversial.

Sporting Cristal outraged by the penalty dismissed by the referee against the Catholic.
© CaptureSporting Cristal outraged by the penalty dismissed by the referee against the Catholic.

Sporting Crystal Y Catholic University They equaled 1-1 for the fourth date of Group H of the Copa Libertadores in a result that does little to help UC and nothing to the Peruvians in their aspiration to get into the next round of the Copa Libertadores 2022.

In practical terms, Sporting Cristal says goodbye to the Copa Libertadores and the remaining two dates will have to fight UC or Talleres de Córdoba for third place in the table in search of a place in the Copa Sudamericana.

And in Peru they are outraged with the Colombian referee Andrés Rojas, who dismissed a penalty in the 87 minutes for the brewers that could mean the victory of Sporting Cristal against UC.

Carlos Liza finished off a divided ball inside the area with great power and the ball went wide after hitting the hand of Tomás Asta-Buruaga. The crusader defender swept in with his left arm raised.

It should be remembered that the duel between La Católica and Sporting Cristal, for the first round of Group H of the Copa Libertadores, had already ended with controversy due to the penalty charged to the Chileans in the discounts, a fact that finally allowed La Franja to win the duel by 2-1 with the goal in the epilogue by Fernando Zampedri from the twelve steps.

Even after that match, the Peruvian press described the duel as “Santiago’s robbery”, furious with the decision of referee Leodán González to collect the controversial non-existent penalty.

Leave a Reply