The Cyprus Rally 2021 has started

From Eleftherias Square and in a solemn way was given on Friday, September 24 the start of the 49th Rally International Rally Cyprus organized by the Cyprus Car Association. The racing action unfolds at the weekend with 12 special routes before the finish on Sunday (26/9 – 18:00) again in Eleftherias Square where our national race returns after more than two decades, sending to the whole world the image of the reborn historic center of the capital.

The start was given by the Ambassador of Qatar to Nicosia SA. Ali Bin Yousef Al Mulla, the President of the Cyprus Automobile Association Mr. Antonis Michailidis, the Chairman of the Sports & Youth Committee of the Municipality of Nicosia Mr. Valerios Daniilidis on behalf of the Mayor of Nicosia, Mrs. Isabella Nymvios and the Municipality of Lefkos Tymvios. Psaltis on behalf of the sponsoring company Psaltis Auto Parts and ENEOS Motor Oil.

Nasser Al Attiyah / Matthieu Baumel started first with a Volkswagen Polo, winners three times in the last four years. Al Attiyah has the record of victories in our national race with 7 victories. It has 17 Middle Eastern championships and is ahead of this year after three games. If Al Thefiri wins again this year and does not score points, then he will be crowned champion in Cyprus for the 18th time.

They were followed by the Cypriot champions of the Panhellenic Rally Championship Alexandros Tsouloftas / Stelios Ilias (Volkswagen Polo) and Abdullah Al Rawahi from Oman with co-driver At Al Hmoud (Jordan) and a Ford Fiesta car.

Behind the Cypriot Champions Simos Galatariotis / Antonis Ioannou, winners of the Cyprus Rally 2018 with Volkswagen Polo and Petros Panteli / Pampos Laos (Citroen DS3) to be followed by the Turkish Cypriot Rauf Denktas with Mehmet Mison and Hyundai i20. The crew fights with the Turkish flag.

32 crews representing Cyprus and nine countries of three continents: Qatar, Kuwait, Oman, Jordan, Russia, Turkey, Andorra, Poland and New Zealand.

Our national match is the fourth in this year’s Middle East Championship, while the matches of Kuwait and Oman remain to close the curtain. Rally Cyprus is the 4th and 5th race of the Pancyprian Championship (every day and a separate race), while there are still two rounds left (in Limassol and Paphos) to complete the championship.

The cars overnight at the Service Park in Aglantzia and on Saturday morning (25/9) start at 8:30 am for the routes Nikitari, Kapouras and Kourdali which will be repeated in the afternoon. On the morning of Sunday (26/9) the routes Lythrodontas, Agios Epiphanios and Agia Marina will take place and will be repeated in the afternoon.

This year’s event is sponsored by Cablenet, the lubricants ENEOS Motor Oil of Psalti Auto Parts, Honda Galatariotis, ANCO Catering Equipment, Prodata and Water Farmakas, while supported by the Municipalities of Nicosia and Aglantzia as well as the Cyprus Police.

More information at

All announcements and information about Rally Cyprus are posted on the digital bulletin board of the race in the Sportity application that is available on Google Play and the App Store. Access to the application is possible using the code CR2021.

Live results at

The race covers a total of 665.74km of which 180.92km are the 12 dirt special routes.

Leave a Reply