Geraint Thomas won in yellow in 2018 at .

The Tour de France 2022 edition starts on Friday 1 July with a time trial of 13 kilometers through Copenhagen. The Danish city is the epicenter of the Great departure this year. After two rides through Denmark, the peloton is already given a rest day on Monday to make the crossing to Lille in northern France. On Tuesday – stage 4 – the caravan will then resume in Dunkirk, close to the Belgian border. With Binche, the sixth stage has a Belgian starting place. The day before, a brisk ride with almost 20 kilometers of cobblestones is on the program.

Six uphill finishes

On Saturday 8 July, the climbing goats really have to show themselves for the first time with a ride with arrival at The Beautiful Girls Super Board. After a second rest day in Morzine on Monday 11 July, the caravan will head for the Alps in the second week of the Tour with, among other things, stages arriving at the Granon Pass and the day after on the legendary Alpe d’Huez. Week three is dedicated to the Pyrenees, where the Tour has arrivals in the climbing resorts of Peyragudes and Hautacam. In total, this edition of the Tour has six uphill finishes. The day before the traditional closing on the Champs-Elysees the peloton is presented with a second time trial of about 40 kilometers that could possibly turn the classification upside down.

Geraint Thomas won in yellow in 2018 at . © BELGA

The women will also be presented with a full Tour de France in 2022. They open their Tour on July 24 – when the men ride the final stage – on the Champs-Elysees and close a week later with a blast The Beautiful Girls Super Board. It’s for the since The Great Feminine Loop in 2009 that the women will once again be allowed to ride a fully-fledged, multi-day Tour de France.

ALSO READ: First Tour de France for women starts next year on July 24 in front of the Eiffel Tower and ends with a tough mountain stage

The full ride schedule for the men

Friday, July 1: Copenhagen – Copenhagen (13 km time trial)

Saturday 2 July: Roskilde – Nyborg (199 km)

Sunday 3 July: Vejle – Sønderborg (182 km)

Monday 4 July: first rest day and transfer to Lille

Tuesday 5 July: Dunkirk – Calais (172 km)

Woensdag 6 juli: Lille Métropole – Arenberg Porte du Hainaut (155 km)

Thursday 7 July: Binche – Longwy (220 km)

Vrijdag 8 juli: Tomblaine – La Super Planche des Belles Filles (176 km)

Saturday 9 July: Dole – Lausanne (184 km)

Zondag 10 juli: Aigle – Châtel Les Portes du Soleil (183 km)

Monday 11 July: second rest day in Morzine Les Portes du Soleil

Dinsdag 12 juli: Morzine Les Portes du Soleil – Megève (148 km)

Wednesday 13 July: Albertville – Col du Granon (149 km)

Thursday 14 July: Briançon – Alpe d’Huez (166 km)

Vrijdag 15 juli: Bourg d’Oisans – Saint-Étienne (193 km)

Zaterdag 16 juli: Saint-Étienne – Mende (195 km)

Sunday 17 July: Rodez – Carcassonne (200 km)

Monday 18 July: third rest day in Carcassonne

Dinsdag 19 juli: Carcassonne – Foix (179 km)

Woensdag 20 juli: Saint-Gaudens – Peyragudes (130 km)

Thursday 21 July: Lourdes – Hautacam (143 km)

Friday July 22: Castelnau-Magnoac – Cahors (189 km)

Saturday, July 23: Lacapelle-Marival – Rocamadour (40 km time trial)

Sunday 24 July: Paris La Défense Arena – Paris Champs Elysées (112 km)

Total 3328 km

Marion Rousse will lead the Women's Tour in the right direction.

Marion Rousse will lead the Women’s Tour in the right direction. ©  REUTERS

The full ride schedule for the women

Sunday 24 July: Paris Tour Eiffel – Paris Champs-Elysées (82 km)

Monday 25 July: Meaux – Provins (135 km)

Dinsdag 26 juli: Reims – Épernay (133 km)

Woensdag 27 juli: Troyes – Bar-sur-Aube (126 km)

Donderdag 28 juli: Bar-Le-Duc – Saint-Dié-des-Vosges (175 km)

Friday, July 29: Saint-Dié-Des-Vosges – Rosheim (128 km)

Saturday 30 July: Sélestat – Le Markstein (127 km)

Zondag 31 juli: Lure – The Super Planche des Belles Filles (123 km)

Total distance: 1029 km

Leave a Reply