The document was read by Paliza, who is also president of the Modern Revolutionary Party (PRM).

The document was read by Paliza, who is also president of the Modern Revolutionary Party (PRM).

The national political leadership has joined the government in a joint effort to promote actions that help the country to adequately and correctly manage the Haitian crisis.

Thirty political groups, including the majority, PLD, Fuerza del Pueblo and PRD; and other organizations of the party system, prepared a statement in which they expose to the national and international community their determined will to confront the Haitian political and migratory issue together with President Abinader, putting the national interest above the partisan.

At the meeting, held in the Las Cariátides Room of the National Palace, President Luis Abinader highlighted that a unitary document has been achieved as a country in relation to the Haitian situation, the challenges and the risks for the country.

He stated that this is a new call to the international community to help with this serious problem.

“It is no longer only from Haiti, nor from the Dominican Republic, but a problem in migration terms and in terms of security that is affecting the entire region,” warned the head of state.

The president was accompanied by the Administrative Minister of the Presidency, José Ignacio Paliza; the Administrative Vice Minister of Government Relations, Andrés Lugo Risk and the Legal Consultant of the Executive Branch, Antoliano Peralta.

The document was read by Paliza, who is also president of the Modern Revolutionary Party (PRM).

Here is the joint statement:

To the national and international community

Faced with the crisis in the neighboring Republic of Haiti, the political leadership of the Dominican Republic, in a demonstration of maturity, responsibility and patriotic unity, beyond political, party and ideological differences, subordinating sectoral and particular interests to the national interest, We have joined forces with the government with the aim of guiding firm actions to protect our borders, our national security and ensure faithful compliance with our immigration laws.

Today Haiti is mired in a multidimensional crisis that affects its governance and is expressed in humanitarian, citizen security, economic, environmental, institutional and political terms. This has led it to a situation of systemic collapse that has dangerous repercussions, not only in the Dominican Republic, but in the entire Latin American and Caribbean region, reaching the continental territory of developed countries and Overseas Departments, dependent on them.

We call on the international community, especially the United States, France, Canada and the European Union, and all the democratic nations of our America, to undertake a serious and consistent effort of aid and collaboration with the rescue of Haiti without further delay. We fully identify with the foreign policy approach decisively assumed by the Dominican State, echoing a great national clamor that there is and will not be in the future Dominican solution to the problems of Haiti.

We also invite the Dominican people and all sectors of national life, in this crisis, to join this collective effort of the entire political leadership of the nation. As our distinguished humanist Pedro Henríquez Ureña said: “The ideal of civilization is not the complete unification of all men and all countries, but the consideration of all differences within a harmony.”

Finally, we ratify the policy of good neighborliness with the Haitian people, based on non-intervention and mutual respect for sovereignty, as well as the necessary contribution that each one, from their territory, must make to the security of their nationals and to the preservation of the means of life, and in an essential way to human dignity as a fundamental pillar of a Social and Democratic State of Law.

Political organizations

Representing the political parties were Carolina Mejía, for the Modern Revolutionary Party (PRM); Julio Cesar Valentín and Sigfrido Pared Pérez, Dominican Liberation Party (PLD); Manolo Pichardo and Inocencio García, Fuerza del Pueblo (FP); Miguel Vargas Maldonado and Héctor Guzmán, Dominican Revolutionary Party (PRD) and Federico Antún, for the Christian Social Reform Party (PRSC).

Also, Manuel Oviedo representing Dominicans for Change (DxC); Pedro Corporán, Party of National Unity (PUN); José Francisco Peña Tavárez, Social Democratic Institutional Block (BIS); Jorge Zorrila, Civic Renewal Party (PCR); Ramón Emilio Goris, Dominican Humanist Party (PHD) and Elsido Díaz, for the Alternative Democratic Movement Party (MODA).

Similarly, Ricardo Polanco, from the Social Democratic Revolutionary Party (PRSD); Juan Dionisio Rodríguez, Broad Front for National Dignity; Milton Morrison, Possible Country (PP); Elías Wessim Chávez, Quisqueyano Christian Democratic Party (PQDC); Maritza López, Liberal Action Party (PAL); Luis Acosta, Christian Democratic Union Party (UDC); Amaury Guzmán, Liberal Reform Party (PLR) and Pelegrín Castillo, for the National Progressive Force (FNP).

In addition, Trajano Santana, representing the Independent Revolutionary Party; Nelson Didiez, People’s Democratic Party (PDP); Juan Cohen, National Citizen Will Party (PNVC); Antonio Brito, Rebel Movement (MR); Antolin Polanco, Dominican Green Party (GREEN); Freddy Núñez, Fifth Republic Party (V Republic); Ismael Reyes, Institutional Democratic Party (PDI); Dorian Feliz, Progressive People’s Party (PPP); Soraya Aquino, Christian Solidarity Party (PSC); Manuel Celestino, United Left Movement (MIU) and Ciprian Reyes, for the Dominican Democratic Party (PDD).

Leave a Reply